Search for Excellence

The David Gibby Search for Excellence (SFE) Awards recognize the outstanding volunteer work of Extension Master Gardeners (EMG) throughout the United States, Canada, and South Korea. SFE includes seven categories in which EMGs can demonstrate meaningful contributions to their communities. All SFE applications must show that significant learning took place, whether by the EMGs or the general public. SFE is designed to recognize outstanding group projects and not an individual who does outstanding work.

SFE Awards are named for Dr. David Gibby, Washington State University who in 1973 created the Extension Master Gardener program. Dr. Gibby trained volunteers with a passion for gardening to assist Extension with consumer horticulture education in the community.

Application Process

Application will open late 2022 or early 2023. Information will be shared through the IMGC website, IMGC social media and the National Extension Master Gardener list servs. Virginia Tech University is responsible for the awards process.

Learn about the 2021 SFE Award Winner.

Stay tuned for further Information!

Sign up for our newsletter to be the first to know conference news and the exact date registration opens


Follow us now on social media